October 24, 2019 BY ARBS

The ARBS 2020 Industry Awards will observe a milestone occasion next year, celebrating a decade of recognising excellence from across the HVAC&R and building services industries.

The ARBS Industry Awards officially launched in 2010 in Melbourne with a purpose to honour and reward the talent in Australia which sustains the industry, fostering an environment where innovation and success can thrive. Award nominees are reviewed by a panel of judges with extensive knowledge and expertise in the ARBS sector, ensuring the awards are chosen with the highest level of integrity.

Tech architect, Nirosha Munasinghe, was presented with the Young Achiever Award at the inaugural ARBS Industry Awards in 2010 after he was involved in developing open system controls products for the HVAC market. He also assisted in launching an Australian owned controls company, Open General, which developed BACnet based fully programmable direct digital controllers, networking devices and powerful web-based user interface which were installed in buildings throughout Australia.

Reflecting on his win from almost a decade ago Nirosha says ‘Winning this award was a great honour to me at that time and really catapulted my career. It was not expected, we were a very small company back then – a small start-up in Melbourne. It gave a presence to our company, and we were able to establish a distribution network around Australia.’

‘I then worked with a company in San Francisco, USA in the smart grid space which ended up being an invaluable learning experience. In the last five years I’ve been working with a large utility corporate in Victoria rolling out smart meters in a project and operational capacity. I am also collaborating in an advisory role with a start-up currently in stealth mode and we hope to release a product within the energy sector in the next coming year.’

‘There is no doubt the HVAC industry is really innovative and growing, a lot of the technologies that are evolving the industry is starting to use; that is why it’s great to celebrate our success through awards such as this.’

The extraordinary talent from within the industry will be honoured at the ARBS 2020 Industry Awards which will be held during the ARBS 2020 exhibition, from 19-21 May 2020 at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

ARBS Exhibition Manager, Sue Falcke, says ‘Not only do the ARBS Industry Awards culminate in a fantastic celebration at the gala dinner, the award recipients will join a small but influential group of industry high-achievers with their accomplishments in their respective fields publicly acknowledged.’

There is still time to nominate for this landmark edition of the ARBS Industry Awards with submissions closing on 15 November, the categories include:


  • ARBS Young Achiever Award 2020
  • ARBS Product Excellence Award 2020
  • ARBS Software/Digital Excellence Award 2020
  • ARBS Project Excellence Award 2020
  • ARBS Outstanding Service & Maintenance Award 2020
  • ARBS Outstanding Industry Education/Training Award 2020
  • ARBS Industry Hall of Fame


Further details and full category and criteria requirements for entry are available on the ARBS 2020 website, www.arbs.com.au.

ARBS 2010 Young Achiever Winner